Wednesday, February 1, 2012

February 2012 Meeting

Our February 2012 Meeting will be held Thursday, 9 February

Time: Noon to 2:00 pm

Where –Amenities room

Embassy of Australia

1601 Massachusetts Ave

Washington DC 20036

Lunch: $15.00, including sodas.

Alcoholic beverages, $2.00 each.

Volunteers: As usual, we need a volunteer (or two) to run the bar.

R.S.V.P. by noon on Tuesday February 7, 2012, to David Ward on 202-352-8550 or via e-mail at dmward1973 at gmail dot com.

Parking: There is no parking at the Embassy. There is paid public parking behind and under the Airline Pilots association (17th and Mass) and at 1500 Mass Ave NW.

Our speaker is Mr. Ken Hill.

Ken Hill directed Peace Corps programs in Bulgaria, Macedonia and eastern Russia, was Chief of Operations for Peace Corps programs in Europe and Asia and was appointed Chief of Staff of the Peace Corps in 2001. Following his retirement from the Peace Corps, he was elected to the Board of the National Peace Corps Association and served as its Chair until 2006. He chairs the Alexandria-Gyumri, Armenia Sister Cities Committee and volunteers for the Edmund S. Muskie Graduate Fellowship program, assessing candidates in the countries of the former Soviet Union.

Mr. Hill has been a member of the panel recommending candidates for fellowships at the Woodrow Wilson Center for International Scholars and has observed elections for the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe. Mr. Hill served as a Peace Corps volunteer in Turkey in the 60s and held senior posts in the Peace Corps and other federal agencies in the 70s. From 1981 to 1993 he owned and operated the Pine Cove Marina in Solomons, Maryland.

2012 Monthly meeting schedule: March 8, April 12, May 10, June 14, July 12, August 9, September 13, October 11, November 8, and December 13.

Additional events to mark on your calendar:

April 25 - ANZAC Day

June 14 - Bakers Creek Air Crash

November 11 – Remembrance Day

2012 Board of Governors and Office Holders:

President: Col. Jeff. M. Quirk, CSC and Bar,

Vice President: Richard Southby,

Treasurer: Kurt Lee,

Secretary: Dave Ward,

Program Chairman: Mario Mirarchi*

Legal Advisor: Bill Bennett,

Selection Committee Chairman:

Edward Connor.

Australian Defence Representative:

WGCDR Steven Rampant, RAAF

Board Members:

Steve Ching,

Walt Dow,

Harry McAlpine,

Vivian McKay,

Matt Prisutti,

Pat van Rooyen,

Simon Willis.

No comments:

Post a Comment