Wednesday, January 9, 2013

January 2013 Meeting


Dear members and friends,

I hope you are well.

Join us for a free lunch (for financial members) on January 10, and help us get an early start celebrating Australia Day, our equivalent of Independence Day. The Annual General Meeting takes the place of a guest speaker and includes the installation of the 2013 Board of Governors.

Thought about becoming a member and wish to take advantage of the free lunch? Come to lunch with a completed copy of the attached application (including supporting documentation) and $30.00 to cover the 2013 annual dues.

The January newsletter is included below and also attached in MSWord format. Also attached are some of the photographs I took at the December lunch. The newsletter contains a link to the more professional photographs taken by Sarah Connor.

Australian Vietnam Veteran Allan Woods and his wife Barbara visited Washington in November to take part in the Veterans Day events at the Vietnam Veterans Memorial. Attached is an article Allan wrote about the visit.

I look forward to seeing you at lunch on the 10th.


David Ward
Honorary Secretary
Washington Sub-branch
Returned & Services League of Australia

P. 202-352-8550
E. dmward1973 (at) gmail dot com

Lest We Forget
Returned & Services League of Australia
Washington Sub-Branch
1601 Massachusetts Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20036

January 2013 Newsletter

January Lunch and Annual General Meeting

When: Thursday January 10
Time:    Noon to 2:00 pm
Where –Amenities room
                Embassy of Australia
                1601 Massachusetts Ave
                Washington DC 20036

The AGM takes the place of the speaker and includes the election of the Board of Governors.

Bring a guest and join us as we get an early start celebrating Australia Day (See below).

Lunch (including sodas) is free for members who pay their 2013 dues ($30). Others and guests $15.00, including sodas.

Alcoholic beverages, Still $2.00 each.

Volunteers: As usual, we need a volunteer (or two) to run the bar.

R.S.V.P. by noon on Wednesday January 9, 2013, to David Ward on 202-352-8550 or via e-mail at dmward1973@gmail.com 

Parking: While there is no parking at the Embassy, paid off street parking is available behind and under the Airline Pilots Association- 17th and Mass, and at 15th and Mass (1240 15th street). On street two hour metered parking is also available.

2013 Membership dues of $30.00 are payable at the meeting. Alternatively, make your check payable to R&SL, and send it to Dave Ward, 2308 November Lane, Reston, VA, 20191

Next meeting – Thursday February 14.

2013 Monthly meeting schedule:  10 Jan, 14 Feb, 14 Mar, 11 Apr, 9 May, 13 Jun, 11 Jul, 8 Aug, 12 Sep, 10 Oct, 14 Nov, 12 Dec. Additional events to mark on your calendar: January 26 – Australia Day,  April 25 - ANZAC Day, June 14 - Bakers Creek Air Crash, August 18  Long Tan Day, November 11 – Remembrance Day

2013 Selection Committee Chair Edward Connor has submitted the following nominations for consideration:
President: Col. Dr. Richard Southby, Vice President, Walt Dow, Treasurer:  Kurt Lee, Secretary:  Dave Ward, Program Chairman:  Mario Mirarchi*, Legal Advisor:  Bill Bennett, Selection Committee Chairman: Edward Connor. Australian Defence Representative WGCDR Steven Rampant, RAAF, Board Members: Harry McAlpine, Vivian McKay, Matt Prisutti, Pat van Rooyen,                                      

December meeting - Many thanks to Sarah Connor for taking photos at the December meeting. The photos can be found at https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=cf48019db966d8e2&id=CF48019DB966D8E2%21958&Bsrc=Sky Mail&Bpub=SDX.SkyDrive&sc=Photos

2012 Board of Governors and Office Holders:
President: Col. Jeff. M. Quirk, CSC and Bar,
Vice President: Col Dr. Richard Southby,
Treasurer: Kurt Lee, 
Secretary:  Dave Ward,
Program Chairman:  Mario Mirarchi’*
Legal Advisor:  Bill Bennett,
Selection Committee Chairman:
Edward Connor.
Australian Defence Representative:
WGCDR Steven Rampant
Board Members: Walt Dow, Dave Gudes,
Al Hickling, Harry McAlpine, Vivian McKay, Matt Prisutti, Pat van Rooyen.
2011 President – Dave Gudes

No comments:

Post a Comment